Fee Schedule

Vocational Nursing Program Fees

NOTE: The Board’s fees will be amended as of January 1, 2019.

Vocational Nursing Fee Categories Fee prior to January 1, 2019 Fee as of January 1, 2019
1. Exam – California School Graduate* $150.00* $220.00*
2. Exam – Equivalency/Non-California School Graduate* $150.00* $250.00*
3. Re-Examination Applications* $150.00* $220.00*
4. Interim Permit $40.00 $20.00
5. Initial License $150.00 $220.00
6. Biennial Renewal for 2 years** $155.00** $225.00**
7. Delinquent Fee $75.00 $110.00
8. Duplicate Wall Certificate
(Duplicate pocket cards discontinued as of September 15, 2017)
$25.00 $25.00
9. License Endorsement
(Licensed in another state coming to California)
$150.00 $220.00
10. Verification of Licensure
(Licensed in California going to another state)
$75.00 $100.00
11. Copy of Records/Documents (transcripts, certification letter, etc.) $2.00 $2.00
12. Reinstatement of a License Variable $245.00
(plus any applicable delinquent fees)
13. Intravenous (IV), Blood Withdrawal (BW), or Intravenous with Blood Withdrawal (Combo) Certification Fee No Fee $20.00
14. Continuing Education Provider $200.00 $150.00
15. Intravenous (IV), Blood Withdrawal (BW), or Intravenous with Blood Withdrawal (Combo) Course Provider Approval/Renewal No Fee $150.00
16. Dishonored Check Fee $25.00 $25.00
17. DOJ Fingerprint Fee $32.00 $32.00
18. FBI Fingerprint Fee $17.00 $17.00
*Examination Administration Fee - This fee amount is for the evaluation of your application materials only. It does not include the examination administration fee charged by the National Council State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN). Upon written notification of exam eligibility, applicants must submit their NCLEX registration fee directly to the NCLEX Data Center to register for their vocational nursing examination.
**Vocational Nurse Education Fund - Effective July 1, 2004, Business & Professions Code, Section 2898.5 (i.e., Senate Bill 358, Chapter 640, Statutes of 2003), establishes the Vocational Nurse Education Program within the Health Professions Education Foundation. The Law requires the Board to collect a $5.00 fee from Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVNs) at the time of license renewal to fund a scholarship and educational loan program for vocational nurse education. More information regarding this program is available at www.oshpd.ca.gov/HPEF/.

Psychiatric Technician Program Fees

NOTE: The Board’s fees will be amended as of January 1, 2019.

Psychiatric Technician Fee Categories Fee prior to January 1, 2019 Fee as of January 1, 2019
1. Exam – California School Graduate $150.00 $265.00
2. Exam – Equivalency/Non-California School Graduate $150.00 $295.00
3. Re-Examination Applications $150.00 $265.00
4. Interim Permit $20.00 $20.00
5. Initial License $300.00 $220.00
6. Biennial Renewal for 2 years $300.00 $220.00
7. Delinquent Fee $150.00 $110.00
8. Duplicate Wall Certificate
(Duplicate pocket cards discontinued as of September 15, 2017)
$20.00 $25.00
9. License Endorsement
(Licensed in another state coming to California)
$20.00 $220.00
10. Verification of Licensure
(Licensed in California going to another state)
$20.00 $20.00
11. Copy of Records/Documents (transcripts, certification letter, etc.) $2.00 $2.00
12. Reinstatement of a License Variable $245.00
(plus any applicable delinquent fees)
13. Blood Withdrawal (BW) Certification Fee $20.00 $20.00
14. Continuing Education Provider $150.00 $150.00
15. Blood Withdrawal (BW) Course Provider Approval/Renewal $150.00 $150.00
16. Dishonored Check Fee $25.00 $25.00
17. DOJ Fingerprint Fee $32.00 $32.00
18. FBI Fingerprint Fee $17.00 $17.00

Links to the laws: