

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive Suite 205, Sacramento, CA 95833-2945 www.bvnpt.ca.gov



September 14, 2022

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians

Announces New Fee Schedule

The Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT, Board) is a self-supporting, special fund agency that obtains its revenues from licensing, certification, examination, permit, renewal, delinquency, and application fees. Under existing law, the Board is specifically authorized to collect fees to support its functions. The fees are intended to be sufficient to cover the cost of the Board's regulatory services. <u>Business and Professions Code sections</u> 2892 - 2892.7, 2895, 2895.5, 4518, 4518.1, 4544 - 4545.3, and 4548 establish the Board's fee collection authority and the statutory minimum and maximum fee schedule for applications for the initial license types, applications for renewal and other fees for Board applicants, licensees, and education providers.

In April of 2020, the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) completed an analysis of the Board's fund condition and fee structure. This analysis was to determine the sustainability of the fund and to ensure that the Board was collecting sufficient revenue to fully recover its cost of regulating individuals and businesses within its jurisdiction.

The data analysis indicates without exception, the actual cost to process each item required by statute exceeds the maximum fee authorized to be charged in statute.

The data analysis found the current level of fees was not adequate to keep the Board's fund solvent and the fees needed to be adjusted to reflect the actual cost to the Board to process and service each license type. A full discussion of the cost analysis may be found at: https://www.bvnpt.ca.gov/pdf/20220111 fee isr.pdf

The decision to raise fees was not made lightly and in recent years the BVNPT has taken multiple measures to reduce costs. Unfortunately, the BVNPT cannot further reduce expenditures that support the licensing, education, and enforcement programs without negatively affecting the Board's ability to process applications in a timely manner and to quickly mediate or investigate consumer complaints.

The new fee schedule will be implemented on September 21, 2022. The fee increase will ensure the BVNPT continues to be effective in regulating vocational nurses and psychiatric technicians of California.

BVNPT Fee Schedule

Effective Upon Filing with California Secretary of State¹ Implemented September 21, 2022

Fee Type	Current Fee	New Fee after 09/20/2022
Vocational Nursing Fee Categories		
Application for Licensure by Examination - California	\$ 220	\$ 300
Vocational Nursing Program Graduate **Does not include exam fee** B&P § 2895 (a) (Method 1)		
Application for Licensure by Examination - Equivalent	\$ 250	\$ 330
Education/Experience		
Does not include exam fee B&P § 2895 (b) (Method 2 - 5)		
Application for Licensure by Endorsement B&P § 2895 (c)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Application for Re-Examination **Does not include exam	\$ 220	\$ 300
fee** B&P § 2895 (e)		
Biennial Renewal Fee (2 years) B&P § 2895 (f)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Renewal Delinquent Fee B&P § 2895 (g)	\$ 110	\$ 150
Initial License Fee B&P § 2895 (h)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Interim Permit B&P § 2895 (i)	\$ 20	\$ 50
Duplicate license or wall certificate B&P § 2895 (j)	\$ 25	\$ 50
Verification of a California Licensee's license to another state	\$ 100	\$ 150
board B&P § 2895 (k)		
Intravenous (IV), Blood Withdrawal (BW), or (IV with BW)	\$ 20	\$ 50
Certification B&P § 2895 (I)		
Psychiatric Technician Fee Categories		
Application for Licensure by Examination - California	\$ 265	\$ 345
Psychiatric Technician Program Graduate		
Includes exam fee B&P § 4548 (a)		
Application for Licensure by Examination - Equivalent	\$ 295	\$ 375
Education/Experience		
Includes exam fee B&P § 4548 (b)		
Application for Licensure by Endorsement B&P § 4548 (c)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Application for Re-Examination **Includes exam fee** B&P § 4548 (e)	\$ 265	\$ 345
Biennial Renewal Fee (2 years) B&P § 4548 (f)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Renewal Delinquent Fee B&P § 4548 (g)	\$ 110	\$ 150
Initial License Fee B&P § 4548 (h)	\$ 220	\$ 300
Interim Permit B&P § 4548 (i)	\$ 20	\$ 50

Duplicate license or wall certificate B&P § 4548 (j)	\$ 25	\$ 50
Verification of a California License to another State Board	\$ 20	\$ 50
Section B&P § 4548 (k)		
Blood Withdrawal (BW) Certification Section B&P § 4548 (I)	\$ 20	\$ 50
Supplemental Certification Course Provider Fee		
Categories		
Continuing Education (CE) Course Provider (VN) B&P §	\$ 150	\$ 250
2892.6		
Continuing Education (CE) Course Provider (PT) B&P § 4518	\$ 150	\$ 250
Biennial Renewal - CE Course Provider (VN) B&P § 2892.6	\$ 150	\$ 250
Biennial Renewal - CE Course Provider (PT) B&P § 4548(k)	\$ 150	\$ 250
Blood Withdrawal (BW) Course Provider (PT) B&P § 4548 (k)	\$ 150	\$ 250
Biennial Renewal - BW Course Provider (PT) B&P § 4548(k)	\$ 150	\$ 250
Blood Withdrawal (BW) Course Provider (VN) B&P § 2892.7	\$ 150	\$ 250
Biennial Renewal - Blood Withdrawal (BW) Course Provider	\$ 150	\$ 250
(VN) B&P § 2892.7		
Intravenous (IV) Course Provider (VN) B&P § 2892.7	\$ 150	\$ 250
Biennial Renewal - Intravenous (IV) Course Provider (VN)	\$ 150	\$ 250
B&P § 2892.7		
IV with Blood Withdrawal (IV with BW) Course Provider (VN)	\$ 150	\$ 250
B&P § 2892.7		
Biennial Renewal - IV with Blood Withdrawal (IV with BW)	\$ 150	\$ 250
Course Provider		
(VN) B&P § 2892.7		

¹ Notice of Approval found at: https://www.bvnpt.ca.gov/pdf/20220910 notice approval.pdf