
TITLE 16.  BOARD OF VOCATIONAL NURSING AND PSYCHIATRIC TECHNICIANS 
 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 

(Board) is proposing to take the action described in the Informative Digest.  Any person interested 

may present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the action proposed at a 

hearing to be held:  

 

Date: May 12, 2009 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Department of Consumer Affairs 

El Dorado Room 

1625 North Market Blvd., #220   

Sacramento, California 95834 
 

Written comments, including those sent by mail, facsimile, or e-mail to the addresses listed under 

Contact Person in this Notice, must be received by the Board at its office not later than 5:00 P.M. 

on Tuesday, May 11, 2009, or must be received by the Board at the hearing.  The Board, upon its 

own motion or at the instance of any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals 

substantially as described below or may modify such proposals if such modifications are 

sufficiently related to the original text.  With the exception of technical or grammatical changes, the 

full text of any modified proposal will be available for 15 days prior to its adoption from the person 

designated in this Notice as contact person and will be mailed to those persons who submit written 

or oral testimony related to this proposal or who have requested notification of any changes to the 

proposal. 

 

Authority and Reference:  Pursuant to the authority vested by section 144, 2841.1, 2854, 4501.1, 

4503 and 4504 of the Business and Professions (B&P) Code; and to implement, interpret or make 

specific sections 144, 700, 701, 703, 704, 2841.1, 2847, 2854, 2867.5, 2875, 2878, 2878.6, 

2878.7, 2892.1, 2892.3, 2892.5, 2895, 2895.1 and 2895.5 (Vocational Nursing Practice Act); 

125.9, 152.6, 700, 701, 703, 704, 4503, 4510, 4511, 4515, 4517, 4521, 4521.2, 4523, 4544, 4545, 

and 4548 (Psychiatric Technicians Law); Government Code section 6157; and Penal Code section 

11105 the Board is considering changes to Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations (CCR).   

 
INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 

 

Business and Professions Code section 2854 (VN Program) and 4504 (PT Program) authorize the 

BVNPT to adopt, amend, or repeal, such rules and regulations as may be reasonably necessary to 

enable it to carry into effect the provisions of the Vocational Nursing Practice Act and the 

Psychiatric Technicians Law. The BVNPT is proposing the following changes: 

 
(1) Amend section 2504.1 (VN Program) and section 2564.1 (PT Program) 

 

The existing regulation, adopted as an emergency, provides that the board may require a licensee 

to provide criminal history information and respond to the board within 30 days, provide accurate 

responses and make available documents and other records requested.   
 

This proposal will amend the emergency regulation to require a licensee to respond to any inquiry 

made by the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (Board) or its appointed 

representatives within 30 days, including inquiries regarding a licensee’s criminal history. The 

licensee must provide true and accurate information and responses and must provide all files, 

working papers and other records requested. The licensee is prohibited by this section from taking 
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actions specifically for the purpose of obstructing the Board’s efforts to gather information, 

investigate, or to hold hearings or other proceedings.  Each of the provisions in this section will 

enable the Board to more effectively carry out the provisions of the Vocational Nursing Practice 

Act and the Psychiatric Technician Law. 

 

To conduct an investigation on whether a conviction is substantially related to a licensees’ scope 

of practice, the Board must review “certified” police reports, “certified” court documents and review 

documentation that substantiates compliance with probationary terms and rehabilitation efforts.  

Without this information the Board cannot make a final determination as to the appropriate action. 

 In the past, licensees have ignored Board requests for information and purposely delayed the 

Board’s ability to make a final decision.  The emergency regulations enable and this proposal 

would continue to allow the Board to issue a citation and fine for failure to provide the necessary 

documentation in a timely manner.  

 

The changes to this section from the emergency regulation expand on the scope of those inquires 

to the entire range of matters within the board’s jurisdiction. By the revisions, the Board will be able 

to more effectively compel the responses and information in any matter within its jurisdiction, 

including criminal activity, continuing education audits or other types of investigations within its 

jurisdiction. Preventing a licensee from intentionally obstructing a court proceeding is designed to 

make the Board’s efforts run more smoothly – the Board is better able to protect the public if 

licensees cooperate with the board. This proposal would enable the Board to issue a citation and 

fine for failure to follow its provisions, making it more likely that licensees will work with the Board 

to collect information. 

 
(2) Amend section 2517.5 (VN Program) and section 2575.5 (PT Program) 

 

Business and Professions Code Sections 2892 and 4544 provide that a licensee shall apply for 

renewal and pay a fee for renewal.  This regulation will make permanent provisions of the 

emergency regulations that require, as a condition of renewal for licenses that expire on or after 

April 1, 2009, a licensee who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an 

electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, to: (a) furnish to the 

Department of Justice (DOJ) a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal 

history record check and to undergo a state and federal criminal offender record information 

search conducted through the DOJ; (b) certify compliance with that requirement at the time of 

renewal; (c) disclose whether he or she has been convicted of any violation of the law in this state 

or any other state since he or she last applied for renewal; (d) disclose whether he or she has had 

a license denied or had a license disciplined by another licensing authority of California, another 

state, another agency of the federal government, or of another country. 
 

 
(3) Amend section 2537 (VN Program) and section 2590 (PT Program) 

 

VN Program – Section 2537 

 

Existing law, B&P Code, sections 2892.6 and 2895, specify the current fees and fee ranges for the 

VN Program. 

 

The BVNPT is proposing to make permanent the fee changes made in the emergency regulation 

to ensure sufficient funds are available to implement retroactive fingerprinting.  The VN Program is 

adopting as permanent amendments to Sections 2537 to reflect the following fee changes:   
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  VN Program 

 Initial License Fees -- From $120 to $150 

 Biennial License Renewal Fees -- From $120 to $150  

 Delinquent Renewal Fees -- From $60 to $75 

 

All of the other fees will remain the same as they were prior to the emergency regulations. The fee 

change is needed to ensure the fiscal solvency of the VN Program as it implements retroactive 

fingerprinting. 

 

PT Program – Section 2590 
 

Existing law, B&P Code, Section 4548, specifies the fees and fee ranges for the PT Program. The 

fee regulations (as they existed prior to the emergency) had been superseded by statutory 

amendments that set the new fees. Consequently, the fee amounts cited in the prior regulation 

were obsolete as of January 1, 2000.  

 

The PT Program is making permanent the amendment to regulation Section 2590.  The prior fee 

regulations became obsolete December 31, 1999, when statutory fee amounts were established 

on January 1, 2000.  The Board proposes to adopt as permanent the emergency fee changes to 

ensure that sufficient funds are available to implement retroactive fingerprinting. The fee changes 

are:  

 

 Initial License Fees -- From $200 (statutorily) to $300 

 Biennial License Renewal Fees -- From $200 (statutorily) to $300  

 Delinquent Renewal Fees -- From $100 (statutorily) to $150 

 

All of the other fees established by the current statute will remain the same in this regulatory 

proposal.  
 

 

(4) Amend section 2540.6 (VN Program) and 2592.6 (PT Program) 

 

Prior to the emergency, the existing regulations specified that if a licensee wants to activate an 

inactive license, the licensee must submit a written request and evidence of 30 hours of approved 

continuing education taken during the two-year period immediately preceding the request for 

activation. This proposal would require, in addition to the above-mentioned requirement, that a 

licensee who was never fingerprinted by the Board or for whom a fingerprint record no longer 

exists furnish a full set of fingerprints as a condition of activating an inactive license.  A change 

was made from the emergency regulation to make it clearer that a licensee need only comply with 

the fingerprint requirement once and not each time the license goes from inactive to active.   
 

 

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES 

 

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings 

in Federal Funding to the State:  Processing approximately 55,000 fingerprint records and the 

applicable disciplinary actions will necessitate adding 14.5 positions to the VN program and 2.5 

positions to the PT program, as well as the related costs for the Office of the Attorney General and 

Office of Administrative Hearings. The current estimated cost per fiscal year is: 
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    VN Program  PT Program 

FY 2009-10 =    $2,068,000  $518,000 

FY 2010-11 =    $3,260,000  $896,000 

FY 2011-12 =    $1,642,000  $398,000 

 

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:  None 

 

Local Mandate:  None 

 

Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for Which Government Code Section 17561 Requires 

Reimbursement:  None 

 

Business Impact:  The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action 

would have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business, including 

the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states. 

 

Impact on Jobs/New Businesses:  The Board has determined that this proposed regulatory action 

will not have a significant impact on the creation of jobs or new businesses or the elimination of 

jobs or existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in the State of California. 

     

Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or Business:  VNs and PTs, who have not 

previously been fingerprinted for the BVNPT or for whom a fingerprint record no longer exists, will 

be required to be fingerprinted at the time of license renewal, reactivation, or reinstatement. The 

one-time cost for a person to get fingerprinted is approximately $65.00. The fee breakdown 

includes $51.00 to the DOJ for conducting the background check and providing the criminal record 

report for DOJ and FBI, and the remaining $14.00 to the vendor for fingerprinting the individual. 

The vendor’s fee ranges from $5.00 to $45.00 with the average fee being $14.00.  Additionally, the 

VN and PT licensing fees will be raised to ensure that sufficient funds are available to fund this 

consumer protection action. 

 

Effect on Housing Costs:  None 

 
EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS 

 

The regulations will not have a significant adverse economic impact on businesses.  There are 

approximately 750 vendors statewide, including small businesses that provide fingerprinting 

services.  There should not be any cost impact on vendors because they are already equipped to 

provide the service.  This regulation will generate revenue for the vendors of Live Scan. 

 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 

 

The Board must determine that no reasonable alternative it considered or that has otherwise been 

identified and brought to its attention would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which 

the action is proposed or would be as effective as and less burdensome to affected private 

persons than the proposed action. 
 

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND INFORMATION 

 

The Board has prepared an initial statement of the reasons for the proposed action and has 

available all the information upon which the proposal is based. 
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TEXT OF PROPOSAL 

 

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations and of the initial statement of reasons, 

and all of the information upon which the proposal is based, may be obtained at the hearing or 

prior to the hearing upon request from the Board at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 205, 

Sacramento, California  95833. 

 
AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND 

RULEMAKING FILE 

 

All the information upon which the proposed regulations are based is contained in the rulemaking 

file which is available for public inspection by contacting the person named below. 

 

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of reasons once it has been prepared, by making a 

written request to the contact person named below or by accessing the website listed below. 

 
CONTACT PERSON 

 

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rulemaking action may be addressed to: 

 

  Name:     Sophia Cornejo, Administrative Analyst 

  Address:   2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 205 

     Sacramento, CA 95833 

  Telephone No.:   (916) 263-7845 

  Fax No.:  (916) 263-7859 

  E-Mail Address: sophia_cornejo@dca.ca.gov 

   

The backup contact person is: 

 

  Name:     Marina Okimoto, Assistant Executive Officer 

  Address:   2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 205 

     Sacramento, CA 95833 

  Telephone No.:   (916) 263-7845 

  Fax No.:  (916) 263-7859 

  E-mail Address: marina_okimoto@dca.ca.gov 

   

   

Website Access – Materials regarding this proposal can be found at www.bvnpt.ca.gov. 

 

 

 

(3/19/09) 

http://www.bvnpt.ca.gov/
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Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 
 

PROPOSED LANGUAGE 
 

VOCATIONAL NURSING REGULATIONS 
 

(1)  Amend Section 2504.1 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 
Article 1. General Provisions 

 
2504.1. Response to Board Inquiry.   

 
(a) A licensee shall respond to any inquiry by the Board or its appointed 

representatives within 30 days.   
 

(b) A licensee shall provide true and accurate information and responses.  
 

(c) A licensee shall provide all files, working papers and other records requested.   
 

(d) A licensee shall not take any action for the purpose of obstructing any Board 
inquiry, investigation, hearing or proceeding. 
 
If the board or its designee asks a licensee to provide criminal history 
information, a licensee shall respond to that request within 30 days.  The 
licensee shall make available all documents and other records requested and 
shall respond with accurate information. 
 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2841.1 and 2854, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 144, 2847, 2854, 2875, 2878, and 2878.6, Business and 
Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  
 

 
(2)  Amend Section 2517.5 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 

Article 4.  Licenses 

 

2517.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License.  
 

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a 
licensee who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an 
electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish 
to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of 
conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal 
level criminal offender record information search conducted through the 
Department of Justice.  
(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and 

conducting the searches.  
(2) A licensee shall certify when applying for renewal on the renewal form 
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whether his or her fingerprints have been furnished to the Department of 
Justice in compliance with this section.  

(3) This requirement is waived if the licensee is renewed in an inactive status, 
or if the licensee is actively serving in the military outside the country.  

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date, 
either a receipt showing the electronic transmission his or her fingerprints 
to the Department of Justice or a receipt evidencing that the licensee’s 
fingerprints were taken. 

 
(b) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose on the renewal form whether, 

in the prior renewal cycle since the licensee last applied for renewal, he or she 
has been convicted of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the 
United States, or other country, omitting traffic infractions under $300 not 
involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.  
 

(c) In addition, As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since 
the licensee last applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had 
a license disciplined by another licensing authority of this state, of another state, 
of any agency of the federal government, or of another country. any disciplinary 
actions against his or her license.  
 

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for 
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee 
demonstrates compliance with all requirements. 
 

(e) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required 
by this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds 
for discipline by the Board.  

 
NOTE: Authority: Sections 144, 2841.1, 2854, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 144, 2841.1, 2854, 2878, 2878.6, 2878.8, 2892.1, and 2892.3, 
Business and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  

 

 
(3)  Amend Section 2537 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to read 

as follows: 

 
Article 6.  Revenue 

 
2537. Fees.   

 
The following fees are established: 

 
 (a) The fee to be paid upon the filing of an application is seventy-five dollars 
($75). 
 (b) The re-examination application fee (for any examination after the first) is 
seventy-five dollars ($75). 
 (c) The biennial renewal fee is one hundred twenty dollars ($120).  For licenses 
that expire on or after July 1, 2009, the biennial renewal fee shall be one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150).  In addition, an assessment of five dollars ($5) shall be collected and 



3 

 

credited to the Vocational Nurse Education Fund, pursuant to section 2895.5 of the 
Code. 
 (d) The delinquency fee is sixty dollars ($60).  For licenses that expire on or 
after July 1, 2009, the delinquency fee shall be seventy-five dollars ($75). 
 (e) The initial license fee is one hundred twenty dollars ($120).  The initial 
license fee on or after July 1, 2009, shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 
 (f) The interim permit fee is forty dollars ($40). 
 (g) The duplicate license fee is twenty-five dollars ($25). 
 (h) The endorsement fee is seventy-five dollars ($75). 
 (i) The penalty fee for submitting insufficient funds or fictitious check, draft, or 
money order on any bank or depository for payment of any fee to the Board is ten 
dollars ($10).     

 
Note: Authority cited: Section 2854, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 2867.5, 2895, 2895.1 and 2895.5, Business and Professions Code; and 
Section 6157, Government Code.  

 
 

(4)  Amend Section 2540.6 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 
Article 7.  Continuing Education 

 

2540.6. Inactive Licenses.  
 

(a) A license will be placed on inactive status when the renewal fee is paid and 
continuing education requirements have not been met.  
 

(b) To reactivate an inactive license the licensee must submit proof of thirty hours of 
continuing education taken during the preceding two years and have furnished a 
full set of fingerprints as required by section 2517.5.  
 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2841.1 and 2854, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 144, 700, 701, 703, 704, 2854, 2875, 2878, and 2892.5, Business 
and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  
 

 

PSYCHIATRIC TECHNICIAN REGULATIONS 
 

(1)  Amend Section 2564.1 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 
Article 2.  Application for License 

 
2564.1.  Response to Board Inquiry.   

 
(a) A licensee shall respond to any inquiry by the Board or its appointed 

representatives within 30 days.   
 

(b) A licensee shall provide true and accurate information and responses.  
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(c) A licensee shall provide all files, working papers and other records requested. 
 

(d) A licensee shall not take any action for the purpose of obstructing any Board 
inquiry, investigation, hearing or proceeding. 

 
If the board or its designee asks a licensee to provide criminal history 
information, a licensee shall respond to that request within 30 days.  The 
licensee shall make available all documents and other records requested and 
shall respond with accurate information. 

 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 144, 4501.1, 4503, and 4504, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 125.9, 144, 4503, 4510, 4511, 4521, 4521.2, 
and 4523, Business and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  
 

 
(2)  Amend  Section 2575.5 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 

Article 4.  Licenses 

 

2575.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License.  
 

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a 
licensee who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an 
electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish 
to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of 
conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal 
level criminal offender record information search conducted through the 
Department of Justice.  
(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and 

conducting the searches.  
(2) A licensee shall certify when applying for renewal on the renewal form 

whether his or her fingerprints have been furnished to the Department of 
Justice in compliance with this section.  

(3) This requirement is waived if the licensee is renewed in an inactive status, 
or if the licensee is actively serving in the military outside the country.  

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date, 
either a receipt showing the electronic transmission his or her fingerprints 
to the Department of Justice or a receipt evidencing that the licensee’s 
fingerprints were taken. 

 
(b) As a condition of renewal, an applicant for renewal shall disclose on the renewal 

form whether, in the prior renewal cycle since the licensee last applied for 
renewal, he or she has been convicted of any violation of the law in this or any 
other state, the United States, or other country, omitting traffic infractions under 
$300 not involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.  
 

(c) In addition, As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since 
the licensee last applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had 
a license disciplined by another licensing authority of this state, of another state, 
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of any agency of the federal government, or of another country. any disciplinary 
actions against his or her license. 

 
 

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application 
for renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee 
demonstrates compliance with all requirements. 

 
(e) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as 

required by this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license 
is grounds for discipline by the Board.  

 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 144, 4501.1 and 4504, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 144, 4503, 4515, 4521, 4521.6 4544, and 4545, Business 
and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  
 
 
(3)  Amend Section 2590 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to read 

as follows: 

 
Article 6.  Revenue 

 
 2590.  Fees.   
 

The following fees are established:  
 
(a) The fee to be paid upon the filing of an application is one hundred dollars 

($100). 
(b) The re-examination application fee (for any examination after the first) is one 

hundred dollars ($100). 
(c) For a license that expires on or after July 1, 2009, the biennial renewal fee is 

three hundred dollars ($300). 
(d) For a license that expires on or after July 1, 2009, the delinquency fee is one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150). 
(e) The initial license fee on or after July 1, 2009 is three hundred dollars ($300). 
(f) The interim permit fee is twenty dollars ($20). 
(g) The duplicate license fee is twenty dollars ($20). 
(h) The endorsement fee is twenty dollars ($20). 
(i)  The post-licensure certification in blood withdrawal fee is twenty dollars ($20). 
(j) The biennial fee for renewal for a provider of an approved continuing 

education course or a course to meet the certification requirements for blood withdrawal 
is one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(k) The penalty fee for submitting insufficient funds or fictitious check, draft, or 
money order on any bank or depository for payment of any fee to the Board is ten 
dollars ($10).     

 
Note: Authority cited: Section 4504, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 152.6, 4544 and 4548, Business and Professions Code; and Section 6157, 
Government Code.  
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(4)  Amend Section 2592.6 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 

read as follows: 

 
Article 7.  Continuing Education 

 

2592.6. Inactive Licenses.  
 

(a) A license will be placed on inactive status when the renewal fee is paid and 
continuing education requirements have not been met.  
 

(b) To reactivate an inactive license the licensee must submit proof of thirty hours of 
continuing education taken during the preceding two years and have furnished a 
full set of fingerprints as required by section 2575.5.  

 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 4501.1 and 4504, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 144, 700, 701, 703, 704, 4503, 4517, and 4521, Business and 
Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.  
 
 
 
(3/17/09) 


