- Job Opportunity for Nursing Education Consultant - PDF
- Board Meetings
- Consumer Complaint Act of 1997
- Contact Us
- Decisions Pending and Opportunity for Public Participation
- Department of Consumer Affairs
- Disciplinary Guidelines
- Expert Witness Recruitment
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Join Our Email List
- License Fingerprint FAQ
- Mandatory Reporting
- Online License Verification
- PRN Newsletter
- Sponsored Free Health Care Events
LocationBoard of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive
Sacramento, CA 95833
Phone: (916) 263-7800
Vocational Nurse Licensure Application Forms
There are five methods to qualify for licensure as a vocational nurse in the State of California. All applicants for licensure under Section 2873 of the Business and Professions Code must meet the requirements of one of the following methods.
Read the Summary of Requirements for Licensure for each of the following methods and download the application forms for the method by which you qualify.
PLEASE NOTE: The Applicant Live Scan Fingerprint Forms will need to be submitted with each qualifying method.
Instructions are on file with each school. Applications must be submitted by the Director of your Nursing Program. Contact your program director for application instructions and forms.
This method requires completion of a course in vocational or practical nursing in a school approved by the Board of Nursing in the State in which it is located.
Method #3 - Equivalent Education and/or Experience
Employment Verification - Nursing Experience - Required with Method #3
Applicant Live Scan Fingerprint Forms - Required with Method #3
This method requires the equivalent of completion of 51 months of paid bedside nursing experience in an acute care facility, verification of skill competency and 54-theory hours of pharmacology. For details regarding this method please see Method 3: Qualification Based on Equivalent Education and/or Experience.
Section 2506 of the California Code of Regulations specifies that applications for licensure shall be made "on the form prescribed and provided by the Board". The Board has specific forms that employers must complete in order for an applicant to receive credit for paid work experience. This form will be sent directly to the employer by the Board, and the completed form must be returned directly back to the Board from the employer.
All documentation in support of an application for licensure should be provided directly to the Board. Employers should not provide confidential employment information on licensure applicants to individuals other than the Board.
Applicants with formal nursing education may submit official transcripts for a determination of possible credit in lieu of paid bedside nursing experience.
(See Summary of Requirements for Licensure and/or Method 3: Qualification Based on Equivalent Education and/or Experience for a detailed description of these requirements.)
This method requires no less than 12 months of active duty bedside patient care on a hospital ward, completion of the basic course of instruction in nursing while in the armed forces and proof that service has been honorable.
4-Year Expired California Licensed Vocational Nurse
Applicant Live Scan Fingerprint Forms - Required with Method #5
Section 2892.1 of the Business and Professions Code specifies that a license which is not renewed for 4 years shall expire. An expired license cannot be renewed, re-issued or reinstated. The licensee is required to submit a new application and retake the licensure examination to receive a new license.
Applicants under this method must submit evidence of prior licensure with this Board (i.e., copy of expired license or license number, original issue date and expiration date.)
In an effort to improve effectiveness and efficiency, the NCLEX program will go green and transition to a paperless program. The paperless initiative will take place starting in early 2014.
For more information please visit https://www.ncsbn.org/nclex.htm