Welcome to the Board of Vocational Nursing & Psychiatric Technicians

Fact Sheet for LVN's Applying for Licensure in Other States

Contact the State Board of Nursing in the state in which you intend to apply for licensure and request that they mail you the appropriate application packet. Directory of State Boards of Nursing. Use your browser's "back" button to return to this page.

Review the application requirements to be sure that you are eligible for licensure in that state. (See below for further information regarding this issue.)

The application packet should contain a Verification of Licensure form. Complete the personal information on the Verification of Licensure form, including your California LVN license number. If you were licensed under a different name, please be sure to indicate your previous name(s).

Attach a check or money order in the amount of $75.00 made payable to "BVNPT" and mail the Verification of Licensure form and fee to:

California Board of Vocational Nursing
and Psychiatric Technicians
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive
Suite 205
Sacramento, CA 95833-2945

Please allow at least 4 weeks for processing your Verification of Licensure form.

You are advised to carefully review the requirements for each out-of-state licensing board to ensure that you meet all of the requirements for licensure in that state before applying to that state, for example;

California State-Board Constructed Examination

California LVN's who obtained their initial license by examination between the years of 1974-1986 may not be eligible for licensure in some states due to the fact that California developed and administered the California State-Board Constructed examination during these years. Many State Boards have laws that require applicants to have passed the national examination (National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) or National League of Nursing State Board Test Pool Examination.)

The Colorado and Florida nursing boards have reviewed the California State-Board Constructed Examination and deemed it to be equivalent to the national examination. The Board has been contacted by other Boards of Nursing who have expressed an interest in reviewing this examination as well.

Equivalency and/or Military Experience Applicants

California LVN's who obtained their initial license in California through equivalent education/experience or military methods of qualifying may not be eligible for licensure in some states. Many State Boards have laws that require applicants to have graduated from an approved nursing program to be eligible for licensure.

It is very important that you make sure that the Board of Nursing will accept your experience and/or examination method prior to submitting the Verification of Licensure form to the California Board for completion. Once the Board has processed your verification of licensure request, the $75.00 Verification of Licensure fee is non-refundable.

Please allow at least 4 weeks for processing your Verification of Licensure form.