Welcome to the Board of Vocational Nursing & Psychiatric Technicians

Application for Vocational Nurse Licensure by Endorsement

If you are licensed as a Practical/Vocational Nurse in another U.S. State or Territory, you will be eligible for licensure in California without examination, pursuant to Section 2872.1 of the Business and Professions Code, provided that you present satisfactory proof of a current and valid license as a vocational nurse or practical nurse, or in an equivalent capacity, by another state, a territory of the United States or a foreign country; and you took the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) or the National League for Nursing State Board Test Pool Examination for Practical Nurse (SBTPE), and passed said examination with a score equal to or above the minimum passing score required by the Board. (Licensure exams in other countries do not satisfy this requirement unless the country administers one of the exams listed above.)

The following items are required to apply for vocational nurse licensure in California by endorsement from another U.S. State or territory:

  • Plan Ahead - submit your application early
    Applicants should submit the application and documentation well in advance, and allow a minimum of 10-12 weeks for processing.
  • Application for Vocational Nurse Licensure
    Completed in full, signed and dated by the applicant. Download, call or write the Board to request the appropriate application package.
    Application for Vocational Nurse Licensure by Endorsement
  • Photograph
    All applicants must submit a 2 inch X 2 inch front view, head and shoulders photograph.
  • Two Fingerprint Cards
    All applicants are required to submit two completed fingerprint cards and the appropriate processing fees. The Board will submit one fingeprint card to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and one fingerprint card to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

    The Board will not issue a license, under any circumstances, until the Board has received the criminal history report back from the DOJ; and the application has been evaluated and approved for licensure. This includes temporary licenses. The DOJ processing time is currently a minimum of 8-12 weeks. Therefore, applicants must keep this in mind when submitting their application.

    Effective November 1, 2000, Applicant Live Scan has been made available to California residents. Non-California residents must continue to use the regular hard card method.
  • Fees
    Applications must be accompanied by a check or money order for $199.00. This is a non-refundable fee which covers the application evaluation process and the fingerprint processing fees.

    The Board will not issue a license, under any circumstances, until the Board has received the criminal history report back from the DOJ; and the application has been evaluated and approved for licensure. This includes temporary licenses. The DOJ processing time is currently a minimum of 8-12 weeks. Therefore, applicants must keep this in mind when submitting their application.
  • Proof of 12th Grade Education
    All applicants must provide proof of 12th grade education or its equivalent. A high school diploma or GED certificate is acceptable.
  • Verification of Licensure
    Verification of Licensure must be received directly from the State Board of Nursing through which the applicant was originally licensed. To expedite processing your application, it is recommended that you contact that State Board as soon as possible regarding a processing fee for completion of this form. A directory of State Boards of Nursing. Use your browser's "back" button to return to this page.

    If the applicant was originally licensed in the State of California or any other state, and that "original" license has expired, the applicant must also send a Verification of Licensure form to the State Board in which he/she is currently licensed.
  • Record of Conviction
    State law provides the Board with the authority to deny licensure to individuals with a Record of Convictions which are substantially related to the practice of Nursing. All applicants are required to complete this form regardless if he/she has been convicted of any crime. Failure to complete this form accurately may delay the processing of an application.
  • Current Licensure in Another State
    Applicants that possess a current and valid license in another state other than the original state of licensure, must submit a copy of that current license, showing the expiration date. If the applicant's "original" license has expired, the applicant must also submit a Verification of Licensure from the state in which he/she holds a current license.

Important Information

A temporary license may be issued upon request, only after the evaluation has been completed and the application has been approved for licensure; including receipt of the fingerprint clearance from DOJ. Applicants must keep this in mind when submitting their application.

You must possess a current license in another U.S. State or territory to be eligible for licensure by endorsement in California.

You must have taken the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) or the National League for Nursing State Board Test Pool Examination for Practical Nurse (SBTPE) and passed said exam with a score equal to or above the minimum passing score required by this Board to be eligible for licensure by endorsement in California.

The Board must received the criminal history report back from the DOJ prior to issuance of any license. This includes temporary licenses. The DOJ processing time is currently a minimum of 8-12 weeks. Applicants must keep this in mind when submitting their application.