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SUBJECT: Proposed Regulatory Action to Amend California Code of

Regulations Section(s) 2517.5 (VN) and 2575.5 (PT), Fingerprint and
Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License

STATEMENT OF ISSUE

The Board is mandated to protect consumers from licensees who practice in an
unsafe, incompetent, or impaired manner. In accordance with Business and
Professions Code, section 2841.1 and 4501.1, protection of the public shall be the
Board’s highest priority in exercising its Ilcensmg, regulatory, and disciplinary
functions.

As a condition of licensure renewal, a vocational nurse or psychiatric technician must
disclose if he or she had been convicted of any violation of the law, with the exception
of traffic infractions under $300 not involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled
substances, since they last applied for renewal.

The Board must amend these regulations to address the issue of renewal applicants
being required to disclose traffic infractions that do not constitute grounds for Board
action. The proposed amendments will increase the reportable traffic infraction fine
amount from $300 to $1000. By doing such, the Board’s highest priority, to protect the
public, will be better served and Board staff will be able to concentrate its efforts on
other critical enforcement-related activities.

BACKGROUND AND SUBJECT REVIEW

The intent of this component of the renewal process is to identify licensees who have
been convicted of a violation of the law, since their last renewal, which would be
grounds for Board action. However, due to the low fine reporting threshold licensees
must report a multitude of traffic infractions that are not grounds for discipline. The
current self-disclosure requirement for license renewal, as it relates to reporting traffic
infractions over $300, creates an undue workload for staff and reporting requirement
for licensees. By increasing the fine reporting threshold to $1000 licensees will only
have to report traffic related convictions if the fine exceeds $999. A fine under $1000
for a traffic infraction will be exempt from reporting as long as it did not involve alcohol,
dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.
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Initially staff was prepared to recommend increasing the reportable fine amount from
$300 to $500. However public comments at the February 26, 2014, Board meeting
along with a review of Uniform Bail and Penalty schedules for Los Angeles and
Sacramento counties support that increasing the amount to $1,000, would ensure that
traffic related infractions that are not grounds for disciplinary action would not have to
be reported to the Board.

RECOMMENDATIONS |

1. The Board approve the regulatory proposal to amend Division 25 of Titie 16,
California Code of Regulations Sections 2517.5 (VN) and 2575.5 (PT).

2. Direct staff to prepare a rulemaking file for notice and comment.

3. Authorize the Executive Officer to make changes consistent with the intent of

the above proposal.
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Attachment A

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
PROPOSED LANGUAGE

Vocational Nursing Requlations

§ 2517.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Réquirements for Renewal of License.

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a licensee
who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an electronic record of
the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish to the Department of Justice
a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and
to undergo a state and federal level criminal offender record information search
conducted through the Department of Justice.

(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and conducting the
searches. :

(2) A licensee shall certify when applying for renewal whether his or her fingerprints have
been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance with this section.

(3) This requirement is waived if the license is renewed in an inactive status, or if the
licensee is actively serving in the military outside the country.

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date, either a receipt
showing the electronic transmission of his or her fingerprints to the Department of Justice
or a receipt evidencing that the licensee's fingerprints were taken.

(b) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee last
applied for renewal, he or she has been convicted of any violation of the law in this or any
other state, the United States, or other country, omitting traffic infractions under $360
$1.000 not involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.

(c) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee last
applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had a license disciplined by
another licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the federal
government, or of another country.

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee demonstrates
compliance with all requirements.

(e) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required by
this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds for discipline
by the Board.



Attachment A

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
PROPOSED LANGUAGE

Psychiatric Technicians Regulations

§ 2575.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License.

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a licensee
who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an electronic record of
the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish to the Department of Justice
a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and
to undergo a state and federal level criminal offender record information search
conducted through the Department of Justice. '

(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints avnd conducting the
searches.

(2) A licensee shall certify when applying for renewal whether his or her fingerprints have
been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance with this section.

(3) This requirement is waived if the license is renewed in an inactive status, or if the
licensee is actively serving in the military outside the country.

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date, either a receipt
showing the electronic transmission of his or her fingerprints to the Department of Justice
or a receipt evidencing that the licensee's fingerprints were taken.

(b) As a condition of renewal, an applicant for renewal shall disclose whether, since the
licensee last applied for renewal, he or she has been convicted of any violation of the law
in this or any other state, the United States, or other country, omitting traffic infractions
under $3068 $1,000 not involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.

(c) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee last

applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had a license disciplined by

another licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the federal
government, or of another country.

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee demonstrates
compliance with all requirements.

(e) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required by
this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds for discipline
by the Board. ,






